How To Put Ps4 In Safe Mode

  



Put your PS4 in safe mode. Connect the USB to your PS4. If your PS4 is on, switch it off. If the power indicator is lit up in orange (rest mode), hold the power button until you hear the system. PS4 also has a safe mode you can use in case you’re running into problems starting up your console. How To start PS4 In Safe Mode: To start your PS4 in safe mode, make sure the console is completely turned off, then press and hold the power button. Release it after you’ve heard two beeps: one when you first press, and another 7 seconds later.

How To Put Ps4 In Safe Mode
PS4 Safe Mode menu
  • 1Safe Mode
    • 1.2Safe Mode Options
How To Put Ps4 In Safe Mode

To start your PS4 in Safe Mode, your PS4 must be turned off by pressing the power button on the front panel of the system. Once the system is completely turned off, you’re going to want to press.

Safe Mode[edit]

(previously named Recovery Menu on the PS3)

Starting the PS4 in Safe Mode[edit]

  1. Turn off the PlayStation 4 by pressing the power button on the front panel. The power indicator will blink for a few moments before turning off.
  2. Once the PlayStation 4 is off, press and hold the power button. Release it after you've heard two beeps: one when you initially press, and another 7 seconds later.
  3. Connect the DualShock 4 controller with the provided USB cable and press the PS button on the controller.
Slim

Safe Mode Options[edit]

The following options are available in Safe Mode:

  1. Restart System - Ends Safe Mode and restarts the PlayStation 4 normally.
  2. Change Resolution - Changes the screen resolution to 480p when the PlayStation 4 is restarted.[1]
  3. Update System Software - Allows the PlayStation 4 to update the system software via Internet[2], USB Drive, or Disc.
  4. Restore Default Settings - Restores the PlayStation 4 to the default factory settings.
  5. Rebuild Database - Scans the drive and creates a new database of all content.
    This operation may take a long time depending on the type and number of data items.
  6. Initialize PS4 - IMPORTANT: All data and settings will be lost by performing this step.
    Deletes all user data and restores the PS4 to as if it just came out of the box. This option is the same as [Initialize PS4] in the (Settings) menu. System software (firmware) is not deleted.
  7. Initialize PS4 (Reinstall System Software) - IMPORTANT: Deletes all information on the HDD, including the System Software. A message that states a USB storage device containing the System Software must be connected, is displayed. Then you can confirm the selection.

Notes[edit]

Mode
  1. Option not available in Development Kit
  2. Suboption not available in Development Kit
Versions
1.01·1.05·1.06·1.07·1.500.000·1.501.000·1.510.000·1.520.000·1.600.000·1.610.000·1.620.000·1.700.000·1.710.000·1.720.000·1.740.000·1.750.000·1.760.000·2.000.000·2.010.000·2.020.000·2.030.000·2.040.000·2.501.000·2.508.000·2.510.000·2.520.000·2.550.000·2.560.000·2.570.000·3.000.000·3.008.000·3.100.000·3.110.000·3.150.000·3.5XX.XXX·3.500.000·3.550.000·4.000.000·4.060.000·4.070.000·4.500.000·4.550.000·4.700.000·4.710.000·4.720.000·4.730.000·4.740.000·5.008.000·5.010.000·5.020.000·5.030.000·5.050.000·5.508.000·5.530.000·5.550.000·5.560.000·6.000.000·6.020.000·6.200.000·6.508.000·6.510.000·6.700.000·6.710.000·6.720.000·7.008.000·7.010.000·7.020.000·7.508.000·7.510.000·7.550.000·8.008.000
0.800.030·0.810.030·0.820.020·0.910.040·0.911.000·0.915.010·0.915.040·0.920.020·0.920.030·0.920.040·0.930.020·0.930.030·0.930.050·0.930.068·0.990.020·0.990.060·0.990.070·1.000.051·1.000.071·1.010.031·1.020.010·1.020.041·1.020.051·1.030.001·1.500.101·1.501.041·1.510.011·1.700.081·1.750.061·1.760.001·2.000.071·2.508.051·3.150.001·3.508.041·3.550.001·4.008.001·4.010.001·4.050.001·4.060.001·4.070.001·4.508.001·4.550.001·4.700.001·4.710.001·4.720.001·4.730.001·4.740.001·5.000.001·5.010.001·5.020.001·5.030.001·5.050.001·5.500.011·5.530.000
System Firmware
Button Combo Menus·Countries·Languages·More System Information·Regioning·Installation·ps4-updatelist.xml·ps4-updatefeature.html·SLB2·CXML structure·RCO archive·★ Debug Settings·★ Store Preview
System Software
Interface·Internet Browser·Crossplatform Integration·PlayStation Mobile·Media Services·PSN·PlayStation Plus·Cloud Services·Licensing·Backwards Compatibility·PlayGo·Safe Mode·Share·SHAREfactory·Themes·4K resolution·
Software Titles
Retrieved from ‘http://www.psdevwiki.com/ps4/index.php?title=Safe_Mode&oldid=262965’

If you are having issues with your PS4, you can access the Recovery Menu / Safe Mode to fix common issues, like restoring / reinstalling the Firmware, resetting the console to Factory Settings and more. Please take care when using the Safe Mode, as some of the options can destroy data on the console.

Starting the PS4 in Safe Mode

  1. Turn off the PlayStation 4 completely. Do not use in Stand-by / Rest mode.
  2. Once the PlayStation 4 is off, press and hold the power button. Release it after you’ve heard two beeps: one when you initially press, and another 7 seconds later.
  3. Connect the DualShock 4 controller with the provided USB cable and press the PS button on the controller.

The video below demonstrates the Safe Mode:

Safe Mode Options

How To Put A Ps4 In Safe Mode

The following options are available in Safe Mode:

Playstation 4 Safe Mode Problem

  1. Restart System – Ends Safe Mode and restarts the PlayStation 4 normally.
  2. Change Resolution – Changes the screen resolution to 480p when the PlayStation 4 is restarted.
  3. Update System Software – Allows the PlayStation 4 to update the system software via Internet, USB Drive, or Disc.
  4. Restore Default Settings – Restores the PlayStation 4 to the default factory settings.
  5. Rebuild Database – Scans the drive and creates a new database of all content.
    This operation may take a long time depending on the type and number of data items.
  6. Initialize PS4IMPORTANT: All data and settings will be lost by performing this step.
    Deletes all user data and restores the PS4 as if it just came out of the box. This option is the same as [Initialize PS4 ] in the (Settings) menu. System software (firmware) is not deleted.
  7. Initialize PS4 (Reinstall System Software)IMPORTANT: Deletes all information on the HDD, including the System Software. A message that states a USB storage device containing the System Software must be connected, is displayed. Then you can confirm the selection.